New Beginnings

In the early 2000s, a dear friend was in a Chekov play that explored the relationship between men and women. Within the context of this play, the male character spouted to the female. “You! With your crinoline logic!”

It has stuck in my mind for nearly a decade. “Someday,” I told myself, “I am going to start a feminist ‘zine and use that phrase as a title.”

Time has passed- and, some may say- the time of “‘zines” has passed us as well. But yet, the phrase, over and over again, has never left me.

As I come back to writing, I was searching for a title, a phrase, of clever uniqueness for this newest blog. 

Crinoline- A petty coat, an underskirt, stiffened to make the skirt of a dress stand out

Logic- A particular way of thinking about something

I am always terrible at these intro posts. I put a lot of effort and energy into putting pressure on myself to sound smart, profound, blah blah blah. 

Really, I’m just excited to write again. 

Real post to come soon!

 

One thought on “New Beginnings

  1. Rosemary Brutico says:

    Alexia,

    I love the name of you zine…perfect in every way. I love that the phrase stuck in your mind, and, of course, I love the source, Chekov!

    And I love you, you beautiful, creative writer…seize the opportunity; seize the muse; let your heart, soul, and intellect speak.

Leave a Reply

