Work at Home Mythology

I’m currently transitioning from a job with a place, an office, and a salary to being a roaming agent of change with a netbook and a flexible “schedule.” The reasons for this are many, and also typical to many parents- two kids, more home commitments, childcare needs, blah blah blah etc.
Like most jobs, there is face time, and then paperwork, e-mail, phone calls, etc. I get to do all these things from home.
Some people are great at this. Disciplined, great boundaries, on time, etc.
And then there is me.
I’m still figuring this out. And so far, I “work” on and off all day, every day. Thanks to my iPhone, I’m always hooked in.
I’ll be providing ongoing assessment as to how this goes, but so far, here is my experience:
The Good:
1. It has been much easier to navigate a sudden temporary loss of my childcare.
2. I can email while nursing!
3. My 2 1/2 yo is much better able to follow directions than I previously thought. “Mommy’s working,” means something to her.

The Bad:
1. I feel constant guilt about how long it’s taking me to get stuff done and learn new things. This is all internal pressure, btw.
2. I don’t have a dedicated workspace at home and am disorganized.
3. My 2 1/2 yo does suddenly decide she needs me and starts screaming “Mommy! Mommy!” Like Stewie when she has had enough.

One thing is for certain: this is not “easier” though it is “better.”

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

